/ Productivity Systems / Handwritten Note Taking App, Ink To Text Per Platform

Handwritten Note Taking App, Ink To Text Per Platform

A handwritten note taking app does one of three things with your ink. Seven apps checked per platform on vendor pages, with the tier and the pen each one needs.

Handwritten Note Taking App, Ink To Text Per Platform

The free handwritten note taking app that turns ink into typed text is already on your device, and which one it is depends on the device. On an iPad with an Apple Pencil it's Apple Notes, which transcribes as you write with the Scribble tool. On a Windows PC with a pen it's the desktop OneNote, which converts a lassoed selection with Ink to Text. On a Galaxy with an S Pen it's Samsung Notes, with a Convert to text button. If you need the same conversion on every platform, the paid answer is MyScript Notes, the app that used to be Nebo, with 66 recognition languages.

The condition is what you mean by "to text". Some apps convert as you write, some convert a selection afterwards, and some only search your handwriting without ever converting it. Notability's own pricing page sells the third as a $15.99 a year feature and uses the word "convert" only on its business plan. Those aren't the same product, and the reviews ranking for this search treat them as one.

Everything below comes from vendor support and pricing pages loaded on 15 September 2026. I haven't measured anyone's recognition accuracy, and I'd be suspicious of a review that says it has without showing the test sheet.

Three Things Handwriting To Text Can Mean

The first is transcription as you write. The pen goes down, and typed characters appear where the ink was. Apple calls its version Scribble and puts it on the Notes toolbar "to the left of the pen". Microsoft calls its version the ink to text pen, and its support page says the words "have your handwriting convert to text as you write". MyScript's listing describes handwriting that "will automatically reflow as needed" and a double-tap "when you're ready to convert".

The second is conversion after the fact. You write a page in ink, select some of it, and ask for text. That's OneNote's Lasso Select then Ink to Text on Windows, Samsung's Convert to text after Clean up handwriting, and the "Convert handwriting to text" row on the Goodnotes pricing grid.

The third isn't conversion at all. The ink stays ink and the app indexes it so you can search it. Apple's guide puts it in a tip, "You can search handwritten text (in supported languages) in Notes." Notability's Plus tier says "Search your handwriting instantly." Useful, and different, because searchable ink still can't be pasted into an email.

A physics student on a Samsung tablet, which is who's asking at position one, needs the second and probably the third. Someone writing meeting notes that become an email needs the first or the second. Decide which before you read a review, because the reviews don't.

The Grid, By App And Platform

App Where the pen works Converts as you write Converts a selection Searches ink Tier with conversion
Apple Notes iPad with Apple Pencil, or a finger Yes, Scribble Yes, select then "paste it as typed text in another note or app" Yes Free
OneNote Windows desktop with a digital pen; iPad, Mac, web, Android for ink Yes, on Windows 11 23H2 with the ink to text pen Yes, Windows desktop only Not stated on the pages I loaded Free
Samsung Notes Galaxy with an S Pen; a finger is allowed No Yes, Convert to text Not on the page I loaded Free with the device
Goodnotes iOS for pressure; also on other platforms Not stated on the pricing page Listed as included on every tier, Free upward Listed as included on every tier Free, 3 notebooks
Notability Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, Android per its footer Not stated The word "convert" appears on Business at $60 a year per user Plus, $15.99 a year Unclear for individuals; see below
MyScript Notes Active and passive pens; iPad, iPhone, Apple Silicon Mac, Android; Windows as Nebo Yes, with a double-tap to finish Yes Not stated on the pages I loaded Paid after a 7-day trial
Noteshelf iOS, Android, Windows, macOS Not stated "converting your handwriting to text" on the home page Not stated Not priced on the page

The two rows I'd trust least are the ones where the vendor's own page says the least. Noteshelf's home page says it converts and gives no tier, language count or price. Goodnotes' pricing grid marks conversion and search as included on Free, and its support articles about how that works returned a bot wall to me twice, so the grid is what I can vouch for.

The OneNote row is the interesting one, because the same app has four different answers.

One App, Four Platforms, One Converts

OneNote is on the lists for Windows, for iPad, and for cross-platform, and Microsoft's own support pages give a different answer on each.

On Windows desktop, the version that used to be called OneNote 2016, you draw a lasso and choose Ink to Text on the Draw tab. That page covers OneNote for Microsoft 365, 2024, 2021 and 2016 and says in one line, "This option is not available in OneNote for Web." For a language other than the default, you install handwriting for that language and set it under Review, Language, Set Proofing Language.

On iPad, Microsoft's page for handwriting says, "OneNote for iPad does not currently support converting handwriting to text." On Mac, a separate page says, "OneNote for Mac doesn't currently support converting handwriting to text," and points out that "Macs don't have a touchscreen," so ink on a Mac means a mouse or trackpad. On Android, none of the pages I loaded say either way, and I'd assume no until a support page says yes.

Then there's the ink to text pen, the as-you-write mode. It needs "devices running Microsoft Windows 11 23H2 with KB5031455 installed," it "only works with handwriting from a digital pen (or stylus)," and it works in nine languages, "English, Spanish, Japanese, French, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Italian, Simplified Chinese, and Korean." That last list is the one to check first. A finger on a touchscreen laptop won't trigger it, and a Windows 10 machine won't have it.

So OneNote is a free handwritten note taking app that converts on one platform, and converts as you write only with a digital pen, in nine languages. That's still a good deal for a Surface owner. It's a different product on every other device it runs on.

Search Is Sold As Conversion

The trap on paid apps is that "handwriting recognition" on a pricing page can mean search, and search doesn't give you text.

Notability's individual plans, read today, put "Search your handwriting instantly" on Plus at $15.99 a year, next to 30 days of version history and a monthly quota of AI quizzes. The phrase "Search & convert handwriting to text" appears one section down, on the Business plan at $60 a year per user. The support article that would settle whether individual Plus converts as well as searches was behind a bot wall when I tried it, so the honest reading of the pricing page is that search is what's advertised to individuals, and I'd confirm conversion in the app during the first week if it's the reason you're paying.

Goodnotes goes the other way. Its grid lists "Convert handwriting to text" and "Handwriting search" as separate rows and marks both as included on every tier from Free upward, alongside "Spellcheck for handwriting". What it holds back on Free is volume, 3 notebooks and 100MB, and what it holds back until Pro at $35.99 a year is "Cross platform sync". There's one more annotation worth reading. "Handwriting sensitivity" carries the note "Available only on iOS," which is the pressure and tilt response, so the same subscription writes differently on a Galaxy or a PC.

Apple Notes charges nothing for either. Scribble converts as you write, Smart Selection lets you copy ink and "paste it as typed text in another note or app," and search is in the guide as a tip. Both features depend on the iPad's system language being a supported one, per the same page.

The Pen Decides Before The App Does

Every vendor page above names the input it needs, and the requirement is stricter than "a stylus".

Apple's guide says handwriting transcription happens "as you write with Apple Pencil". Which Pencil matters less for conversion than for feel, and the Apple Pencil comparison has the input table, where the USB-C Pencil has no pressure sensitivity. Samsung's page allows a finger for writing and then says "an S Pen truly enhances the experience!", and the Convert to text steps are described on a Galaxy S25 Ultra. Microsoft's ink to text pen wants "a digital pen (or stylus)" on a Windows 11 device. MyScript is the loosest, supporting "both active and passive pens and styluses," which is why it's the app to look at on a tablet whose maker never sold a pen.

None of that is a hardware review. The best note taking device piece prices the iPad, the e-ink tablets and paper with the pen included and decides by what the note has to do afterwards. This piece assumes you've picked a device and asks what the software on it can do with the ink. The two questions get confused in the roundups, where a "handwriting app" review is really an iPad review with the app's name on it.

Where The Text Goes Afterwards

Converted text is only useful if it leaves the app.

MyScript exports a note as "PDF, PNG, SVG, Word, or Nebo" and can put multiple pages in one file, which matters if the text is headed for a document rather than another note. Its sync runs over "iCloud (iOS only), Google Drive or Dropbox" with a free MyScript account, and the App Store listing says the app "never stores content on our servers without your explicit consent." The prices on that listing are the weak spot. It shows "Full Access" purchases at $1.99, $7.99 and $29.99 without saying in the listing text which is a month, a year or forever, plus a $9.99 Nebo Pro and $4.99 packs. The vendor page adds that pricing "may vary depending on your region." Budget for the $29.99 and be pleased if it's less.

Apple Notes' route is the paste. Select ink, paste it as typed text into Mail or Pages, and the note itself stays handwritten. That suits people who want the ink as the record and the text as the copy.

OneNote's conversion happens on the page itself, from the Draw tab, and the result lives in a OneNote page in OneDrive. Samsung's page says the Convert button will "change your handwriting into text," which reads as a replacement rather than a copy. That's the opposite of Apple's approach, and worth knowing before you convert a page of equations you liked the look of. Duplicate the page first if the ink matters.

Pick By Device

Your device Free route that converts Paid route What you give up on free
iPad with any Apple Pencil Apple Notes, Scribble and paste-as-text Goodnotes from $11.99 a year for unlimited notebooks; MyScript for Word export Nothing on conversion; you give up paper templates and PDF tooling
Galaxy tablet or phone with S Pen Samsung Notes, Convert to text MyScript Notes on Google Play; Notability's Android app The Windows build of Samsung Notes has fewer of the Galaxy features, per the Samsung Notes breakdown
Windows laptop or Surface with a pen OneNote desktop, Lasso then Ink to Text; the as-you-write pen on Windows 11 23H2 Nebo (MyScript's Windows name); Notability on Windows Nine languages on the pen mode; nothing in the browser
Windows laptop without a pen Nothing that converts; the ink to text pen needs a digital pen Same Everything; buy the pen first
Mac Nothing converts; OneNote for Mac says so and Macs have no touchscreen MyScript on an Apple Silicon Mac, macOS 14 or later A Mac is where converted notes get edited, not where they get written
Android tablet without an S Pen Nothing free on the pages I loaded MyScript Notes, with a passive stylus if that's what you own Samsung's converter is tied to the S Pen

The Mac row is the one that surprises people. Apple's transcription lives on the iPad because that's where the Pencil is, and Microsoft's page for the Mac talks about mouse and trackpad. If your handwriting has to become text on a Mac, the ink is written somewhere else and arrives as text or as a synced note.

For what each of these apps does on the platforms it doesn't convert on, and which ones reach Linux at all, the cross platform note taking app matrix is the companion to this table.

Questions People Ask

Is Goodnotes a free app? There's a free tier at $0, capped at 3 notebooks, 100MB and 5MB imports, with 20 minutes of audio. The pricing grid marks handwriting conversion and search as included on that tier. Unlimited notebooks start at $11.99 a year and cross-platform sync at $35.99, on the grid I read today.

Is there a notes app that makes your handwriting neater? Three vendors say so in their own words. Apple Notes has Refine, "to make your writing smoother, straighter, and more legible," an Auto-refine switch, and a Straighten command, and a separate Apple support note says iPadOS 18 uses "an on-device model" to reproduce your handwriting style when you paste text. Samsung Notes has a Clean up handwriting step before conversion. Goodnotes lists "Spellcheck for handwriting" on every tier. I can't tell you how neat any of them makes it, only that the buttons exist.

What is the best free handwriting app? The one your device ships with, if it converts, which the pick-by-device table settles. Apple Notes on an iPad and Samsung Notes on a Galaxy are the strongest free routes because both convert and both refine. OneNote desktop is the free route on Windows with a pen. On a Mac or a pen-less Windows laptop there isn't a free one that converts, and I'd rather say that than recommend an app that only searches.

What is the best way to take handwritten notes? My view is to decide first whether the ink ever needs to be text. If it doesn't, you want feel and search, and paper or an e-ink tablet is in the running. If it does, you want the first or second column of the grid, and you should convert a paragraph in the first week to see what the recogniser does with your hand, because no vendor publishes an accuracy figure.

What is the best app to take handwritten notes? Apple Notes on an iPad, for free, until you need Word export or paper templates. MyScript Notes if the same conversion has to work on more than one maker's hardware. Goodnotes if you want the notebook feel and can accept that pressure sensitivity is iOS-only on its own grid.

How do most college students take notes? I don't have a survey and won't pretend to. What the results page shows is a physics student asking which handwritten-first app to use on a Samsung tab, which tells you the question is live and nothing about the majority. The device piece linked above declined to invent a share, and I'll do the same.

What I'd Do

Open the app that came with the device and try to convert one paragraph before installing anything. On an iPad that's the Scribble tool in Notes. On a Galaxy it's Clean up handwriting then Convert to text. On a Windows machine with a pen it's Lasso Select then Ink to Text in the desktop OneNote, and if the button isn't there, check that you're in the desktop app and not the browser.

If that paragraph comes back usable, you're done for nothing. If it doesn't, or the device is a Mac, an Android tablet without an S Pen, or a laptop without a pen, that's when MyScript earns its trial week, and I'd export the test page to Word before the seven days run out to see what the text looks like outside the app.

And before paying for anything with "handwriting recognition" on the pricing page, find the word "convert". If the tier only says "search", it's the third thing on the list, and it won't write your email for you.